Youth Water Summit Reflection Questions

Please reflect upon the 2015 Youth Water Summit by answering the following questions.

1)  How did the Youth Water Summit expand upon your knowledge and interest within the Water Resources career field?

2)  List three new water resource issues that you learned from viewing student projects at the Youth Water Summit.  How did this information impact your knowledge on Idaho’s water resources?

3) The water resource project provided you an opportunity to expand your knowledge within scientific research, problem solving, critical thinking, teamwork, and communication.  How will you apply these skills in the future?

4) What was the most challenging aspect of the water resource project? How did you overcome this challenge in order to present your research at the Youth Water Summit?

5) After being exposed to college life, has your enthusiasm for academia grown? How has The Confluence Project impacted your preparation for higher education?

10 thoughts on “Youth Water Summit Reflection Questions

  1. The Youth Water Summit helped me learn how much water we really use and how our way of life affects the world around us. Although I learned a lot form this experience, I still have no desire to actually go into this career field.There were three water resource issues I learned about at the summit. I learned that the water from nearby cisterns are declining, water from the mountains are alos declining, and a lot of soils are becoming saturated and water is not moving through it; therefore creating massive runoff. The skills I learned from this experience will help me later in life. I will be able to use these skills when working with coworkers and solving problems with people in a way that no body has really thought of before.
    The most challenging aspect of my water resource project was actually picking a water resource project. I was able to choose a project by receive help from my friends and family. It also helped that I had past exsperiences to pull from to help narrow all my options down.
    After being exposed to college life, I am less apprehensive to go. This has made me want to work harder to be able to go to the college that I want to go to instead of settling for a community college. The Confluence Project has helped me find what I want to go to college for and it has prepared me for more public speeking that will happen in my career as a student.

  2. 1) How did the Youth Water Summit expand upon your knowledge and interest within the Water Resources career field?
    The summit opened me up to how much water that we use and how much we waste. We actually have very little water that is available for use and that is pretty scary.
    2) List three new water resource issues that you learned from viewing student projects at the Youth Water Summit. How did this information impact your knowledge on Idaho’s water resources?
    We have limited water resources. Their is a problem with liquidification in baseball/softball fields and some animals in Idaho are becoming endangered because of the limited water. It made me concocious of my own water useage.
    3) The water resource project provided you an opportunity to expand your knowledge within scientific research, problem solving, critical thinking, teamwork, and communication. How will you apply these skills in the future?
    I can apply these skills when i grow up and i want to solve a problem that people can have.It would work great if i decided to go into the science field.
    4) What was the most challenging aspect of the water resource project? How did you overcome this challenge in order to present your research at the Youth Water Summit?
    The biggest challenge was speaking in front of the judges. I have really bad stage fright and people were everywhere so that was hard as well. I pretended that i was talking to my mom about my project and that made it way easier.
    5) After being exposed to college life, has your enthusiasm for academia grown? How has The Confluence Project impacted your preparation for higher education?
    My enthusiasm has grown. I wasn’t quite sure about going to college before i went to the summit but after college looked really fun and exciting. I know now after the summit and from my biology teacher how to conduct a professional research paper and conduct research properly. I also know how to dress profesionally for a business interview or a presentation.

    • 1. The youth water summit showed me that our freshwater is very precious and isn’t as abundant as I thought. It showed me that I need to embrace water conversation especially this summer because it is going to be exceptionally dry.
      2. Limited water resources, pollution, drought,
      3. Well I got those skills mainly from my teacher Ms. Kreider and not just the Confluence Project but I will use them in my future of Mechanical Engineering.
      4.The most challenging part was that we changed our entire idea that we had had the entire year like 4 days before the summit. So we had to change everything.
      5. Yes although I visit U of I a lot and stay in my brothers dorm I didn’t know the entire campus. The tour was fantastic and showed me the whole campus. I have always wanted to go to college but now that I know what a great engineering department U of I has, I am considering going there.

  3. 1. I learned a bit about how I can conserve water. I have no interest in the water resources field, but it is good to know about everything you can learn about.

    2. I learned a little bit more about water shortages, ways to conserve water by knowing what to, and uses of water resources like more efficient hydroelectric turbines. It impacted me by showing me how this is bigger than i thought.

    3. I will have to apply these skills in the future by conducting research and experimenting the things i hope to build as a mechanical engineer.

    4. The most challenging part of TCP was my project. I did a computer animation and creating a rig for my little diver dude was especially difficult because his legs would deform in a weird way when i applied the rig to the person.

    5. I feel very enthusiastic that there is very good opprotunities for those that are willing to work hard. The project has impacted me by showing me how hard I must work to create my own opprotunity.

  4. 1. The youth water summit helped me learn a lot about the Water Resources Field. I am more interested about this field than I was before. I am now interested in figuring out how to save more water for our community.
    2. I learned a lot about new water resource issues. On one project, they had filters on the drainage systems so the water would have better quality before entering the river or lake. Another project explained how to help save water by watering your lawn at a certain time. Lastly, a project was about making sure the water quality on dams would stay high. This information made me realize certain areas are losing water quantity and we should figure out how to fix that.
    3. This project has been very helpful to my critical thinking. In the future, this will help me with other big projects that I need to do.
    4. The most challenging thing about my project was that we were told that we’d get ten minutes to talk instead of five minutes. We had to take parts of our speaking out, but it turned out exactly how we wanted. We also had our diagram break, so we had to just point at it instead of show how it worked.
    5. I always knew that I wanted to go to college, but seeing the campus helped me out very much. College life seems new and different. When it’s time for me to go to college, I will feel a little more prepared with the help of this project.

  5. How did the Youth Water Summit expand upon your knowledge and interest within the Water Resources career field?

    The Youth Water Summit expanded my knowledge on many new things. I learned that there are many problems occurring in our water basin and many new ways to help these problems. It increased my interest in the Water Resources career field because I got to meet many people who work in the field and the campus tour made me want to rethink what I want to major in college.

    List three new water resource issues that you learned from viewing student projects at the Youth Water Summit. How did this information impact your knowledge on Idaho’s water resources?

    I learned that the raising of temperatures of the earth is impacting our water levels in the summer. I also learned that Post Falls has a sewage plant, and the girls presenting said that the plant will soon be expanding with the rising population. I learned that installing water filters in storm drains could help the quality of the river.

    The water resource project provided you an opportunity to expand your knowledge within scientific research, problem solving, critical thinking, teamwork, and communication. How will you apply these skills in the future?

    I will apply these skills in the future if i am ever given a problem that needs to be solved and to possibly make new friends.

    What was the most challenging aspect of the water resource project? How did you overcome this challenge in order to present your research at the Youth Water Summit?

    The most challenging part of our project was choosing the topic. It took us a while to find our topic. Once we figured out our project topic, the rest was pretty easy.

    After being exposed to college life, has your enthusiasm for academia grown? How has The Confluence Project impacted your preparation for higher education?

    Yes, it has increased. This project has shown me that in college you must put in extra effort and be ready to make new friends. I also know how to dress professionally now.

  6. 1. During the Youth Water Summit I learned that there are many jobs classifying water resources preservation and/or use. I am interested in majoring in mechanic engineering ,but after seeing the schools programming I have become a little more interested in the UVI’s civil engineering program.

    2. I learned through TCP that there was a beginning of droughts in Idaho, a way to fix drainage control, and Snotel data that showed the lowering of business opportunities. I now know from my own research and of other student’s that the water in Idaho is slowly becoming a drought problem. In fact, this year is the lowest that the snow count in over fifty years.

    3. In the future I will be either apart of a team or own my own business; therefore I will need to interact with people during teamwork or design preferences. Not only will I need those skills, but all of my architectural designs will have to be geometrically correct and stable.

    4. The most challenging aspect was to make sure that the whole presentation was in order and on timing. In order to overcome this my group made note cards and practiced order and display multiple times. Other then that my group felt very successful.

    5. I actually would like to attend The University Of Idaho for the engineering programs. They have the program and work space that is necessary to earn my degree in mechanic engineering.

  7. The Youth Water Summit taught me just how valuable water really is and how much is used. It surprised me how much water actually goes to waste and how much we could learn to save.
    One issue that I learned of was that the Post Falls population is rapidly growing. The girls presenting this problem said that they wanted to expand and make a filter system for the sewage plant of the Post Falls residents. I thought that this was a very interesting idea. Another issue I learned about was that many people aren’t adequately taught how to conserve water. The two people how wanted to provide more education on water conservation made an educational video. It was really interesting to hear some of the statistics that they provided in their video. I am going to try my hardest and follow the conservation steps that they provided in their video. One more issue that I learned about was that Fernan Lake has been experiencing high phosphorus levels for the past few years, and this has caused the lake to be closed to public activity due to algal blooms. My group and I worked together to form a solution to this problem. We wanted to create a vegetation buffer between the dirt road and the lake the reduce the sediment that enters the lake.
    I plan to apply these skills in the future when I work on other group projects so that we can work efficiently. I also learned good communication skills while working with my group members to get our project done. I can also use these skills to solve problems quickly and logically. The public speaking aspect of it will help when I take a college speech class.
    The biggest challenge for my group and me was that we had trouble getting together to further work on our project because we were so busy. We overcame this challenge by pulling some late-nighters and working hard to finish our project. We also had trouble deciding exactly what problem we wanted to address for our project and how we wanted to solve it.
    After seeing college life I am excited to go to school but also a little bit nervous, but that can only be expected since it will be a big change. I feel more prepared for higher education due to the Confluence Project. It has taught me how to problem solve, work with others, and how to get things done quickly while still keeping it thorough.

  8. The Water Summit expanded my knowledge greatly for water. I realized how much freshwater Earth has and that we need to try to conserve it because we use it on a daily basis. In the Water Resources Career field, I am now interested in other countries without the freshwater we have here.
    One issue I learned about was that the population of Post Falls was rising and the water sources weren’t. The girls presenting attacked that issue by proposing to expand the sewage plant that filters the water. Expanding the plant would make more filters to clean the water and if the population continues to rise, they will be able to sustain it. Another issue I learned about was that people aren’t well educated about water. They don’t know that on Earth we don’t have much freshwater to work with. This helped me realize that if people were more educated, then they would use water more wisely. For example, turning off the water while brushing your teeth or taking shorter showers. The last issue I learned about was the issue in Fernan Lake. Fernan Lake went through eutrification where there was an excessive amount of algae blooms. They were caused mainly by humans, such as fertilizers from their crops or gardens running into the river, dirt roads causing sediment build up in the lake, and the process of cutting down trees. This showed me how much we have an impact on affecting the lakes and causing them to have closure. We need to minimize things we do around our waters to keep them safe and healthy.
    I will apply these skills in the classroom. With labs, critical thinking is important to find the best way to put the lab together and find a solution. I will also use the skills of communication and teamwork in future jobs or group projects that may happen in classrooms at school.
    The most challenging aspect of the water resource project was perfecting what out topic was on and finding a solution that fit our problem the best. We overcame this with a large amount of research and with the help of Mrs. Krieder and Kathleen to guide us along the way.
    I’ve always had an academic enthusiasm, but with the college experience, it made it more real. It made me realize that I’m growing up and near ready to figure out what college I want to attend. The Confluence Project has taught me to think outside of the box. It has taught me to expand my thoughts and really think about the problem in order to solve it. The Confluence Project was a good learning experience.

  9. 1) It greatly expanded my knowledge of my water footprint and how blessed I am to live where drought isn’t a current problem.
    2) The rivers drying up, the decrease in snow pack, and the chance of an upcoming drought shows that Idaho is losing its abundance of water and has a sketchy future.
    3) All of these skills can be used in college and would be very helpful. Some of those skills are very helpful people skills.
    4) The hardest part of the confluence project is that my group had to change our project completely three days before the Youth Water Summit. Stephen, my partner, and I had to work until late at night every day to ensure that our project was done in time.
    5) I feel that after I was exposed to college life by the confluence project, I am way more enthused about a higher education and way more prepared for it than I would ever be.

Leave a Reply

