St. Maries Snow Science Reflection

 

st_maries_snow_science

Please comment on the following questions:

  1. How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school?
  2. In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school?  In what ways was it different?
  3. What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences?
  4. What was your favorite part about today’s field work?  Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.).
  5. How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology?
  6. Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting?
13 thoughts on “St. Maries Snow Science Reflection

  1. 1) How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school? I feel that I have a much better understanding of snow and the procedures to analyze it, and I feel secure in the information I tell someone else.

    2) In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different? The field experience similar to typical science labs in the way that it gives us a better understanding of certain lessons. It was different because we learned on a much larger scale and met people that could further our knowledge past that of what we would learn in school.

    3) What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences? The most important thing I learned was how much/little water our precious snow actually contains. It makes me realize that we desperately need it, yet we don’t always get a sufficient amount.

    4) What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.). My absolute favorite part was the snowshoeing because it is fantastic exercise and the feeling of being on top of the snow (like I’m floating) is exhilarating. It’s FANTABULOUS!!!

    5) How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology? It has made me cognizant of how important these careers are to us. I also learned that it can be complicated and, at times, cold. BRRRRRRR! 🙂

    6) Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting? I realized that our use and budgeting of fresh water is very important before the field work, but this has shown me that it is essential to many people and wildlife. It really troubles me that there is a problem with the use and budgeting of water, and I believe it would change everything if children can be educated like this earlier in school.

  2. 1.How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school? Right now, I feel a good kind of exhausted. Usually , I feel good about the lab, but I don’t have that satisfying “job well done” feeling because I didn’t have any questions on the field trip.

    2.In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different? It was the same because today was fun and labs are usually fun, and we collect a lot of data when we do both labs and field experiences, too. it was different because we were outside for most of the day and had a lot of room to work. During labs, we usually have a confined space unlike field experiences.

    3.What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences? The most valuable thing I learned today was how to test for an avalanche. And how to check the “history” of the snow at Lookout Pass.

    4.What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.).My favorite part was basically just the experience of getting to go outside and feel sort of refreshed from the cold air and snow.

    5.How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology? I understand that it is a process to go out and dig in the snow and find the layers and collect data. I definitely wouldn’t want to go alone.

    6.Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting? I realized there isn’t a whole lot of freshwater for us touse because even if there is a lot of snow, when it melts, there isn’t as much water from it as there was snow. It is also expensive to get the right equipment to go out and test the SWE.

  3. Elexus Moore of St. Maries Idaho
    1.How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school? I feel that this experience helped get a better understanding of snow science and the methods used to study it.
    2.In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different? You learned the same things about snow science. The difference is that we were hands on which gave a majority of us a better understanding of it.
    3.What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences? I learned how snow is very important to our ecosystems and our lives. It made me realize how little/more water can come from this snow.
    4.What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.). I loved snowshoeing. It was terrific. I really liked using them because when I took them off I postholed it. I loved feeling the sun and wind in my face. I for sure lost some weight!!:) I truly loved this experience.
    5.How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology? I realized how simple and hard it is to understand snow science. It also made me realize how important these occupations are very important to us.
    6.Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting? The use and budgeting of freshwater is very important to our daily lives. I believe we need to do everything we can to protect our water resources.

  4. Bethany Scott Of SMHS
    1.How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school? I am cold and tired but it was worth it. I enjoyed being outside. I feel as if I got a better understanding of it because it was hands on.
    2.In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different? We followed step by step instructions like in class. It differed because we were all able to work together as one big group.
    3.What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences? How to keep warm when its cold outside is the most valuable thing I learned.
    4.What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.). My favorite part was being able to work together with all my friends and have fun while doing the work.
    5.How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology? I realized there are far more careers than I thought they were and how they truly do play an important role in our community.
    6.Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting? I realized that how much snow we get has a big affect on our freshwater resources.

  5. 1.I feel like getting out of school and hands on work is a good experience for these classes. At school I feel like the labs I understand but some of the hands on stuff would be a lot more helpful.
    2. It was the same because we were testing things and trying to analyze them. It was different because we were getting physically active and getting hands on experience.
    3. The most valuable thing that I learned was that there is different ways to test for avalanches and there are many different layers in the snow.
    4. My favorite part was digging our snow pit, having a snowball fight, and getting on the news. The news was a good way to get out project out there and more people involved. We were having fun while also learning.

    to be continued……

  6. 1.How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school? I feel that this experience helped get a better understanding of snow science and the methods used to study it.
    2.In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different? You learned the same things about snow science. The difference is that we were hands on which gave a majority of us a better understanding of it.
    3.What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences? I learned how snow is very important to our ecosystems and our lives. It made me realize how little/more water can come from this snow.
    4.What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.). My favorite part was being able to work together with all my friends and have fun while doing the work.
    5.How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology? I understand that it is a process to go out and dig in the snow and find the layers and collect data. I definitely wouldn’t want to go alone.

  7. 1.How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school? I am very cold and exhausted but I enjoyed being to Lookout Pass. I actually felt like I did something today. In a typical lab I would still be tired, but I would have been bored and warm.
    2.In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different? We followed step by step instructions to get data on our snow pact. It was different by we were outside and having fun.
    3.What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences? I learned how to snowshoe, ways to test for avalanche danger, and also how to do flips on a sled.
    4.What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.). My favorite part was hiking up to the locations where we dug our holes. We were all cold, but throwing snowballs and seeing the amazing view was worth it.
    5.How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology? I realized that there were a lot more careers involving snow than I thought there was.
    6.Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting? This field experience opened to my eyes to how important snow is to the environment.

  8. Continued….
    5. Today I’ve gained knowledge on how to test snow density and test for avalanches. There are a lot more occupations in this field then i realized.
    6. This field experience has taught me that even though i may not like snow so much its very important to the enviroment and the animals and wildlife.

  9. 1.) I feel really good right now, I had a lot of fun doing science outside of the class room. I obtain more knowledge with hands on activity. When we have field experiences we get to gather a better understanding when we see things in person, not just hearing about them.

    2.) This field trip was similar to our classroom work in the ways of us testing and challenging our minds with our hypothesis. there are many differences when it comes to lab work inside and outside. We see better visually outside, and we are able to test our hypothesis in a more real environment, but inside we obtain the knowledge of what our teacher is informing us of, and we are able to take better notes.

    3.) The most important part was probably learning about avalanche awareness. When you are out on the mountain having snow fun and such, you want to be very extra careful so you do not disturb the snow, and create an avalanche. We learned how easily a avalanche can occur. Also, you athletic snow shoers…. you are awesome.

    4.) My favorite part of the trip was making our own snow pits, and sledding. Our own hands on experience really helped us a lot when it came down to our own time. Then at the very end of our trip when we had like 10 minutes for some real fun and went sledding!

    5.) I give a lot of credit to the people who work in this type of environment. I was not a big fan of hiking up the mountain. It was very exhausting, but I would most likely do it again, but only for fun. So the people who do this for a living, kudos to you!

    6.) Today it showed me that even though there may be a lot of snow on the ground, after it melts. The density may be greater, but even with high density the water that will be available after the melting of the snow, isn’t as significant as we all thought it would be.

    Thank you!
    Cassandra Sott

  10. 1. I feel really good right now. Working out in the field is a lot more fun than in the classroom. In the classroom, we complete labs, but they are never as real as out in the field.

    2. This field experience was similar to in-classroom labs in ways such as we tested hypothesis and recorded the data we found. It was different in ways such as we were outside and actually researching in nature.

    3. The most valuable thing I learned from today’s experience is about Avalanche Awareness. I learned how easily avalanches can happen, and be very careful when in the mountains in the winter. I also received a newfound respect for people who snowshoe hike all the time for fun.

    4. My favorite part of this field experience was when we dug our own snow pits and recorded out own data. This field experience was very, very cold but it was also fun and educational.

    5. I learned a lot more about how scientists record snow pack data. I think it is a very interfering career, but too cold for me.

    6. This field experience showed me how important snowfall is to how much freshwater resources we have in the summer months.

  11. How do you feel right now? Compare these feelings with those that you have after completing a typical science lab at school?

    As always, tired, but accomplished and somewhat happy. It was a long yet fin and productive day. Labs aren’t nearly so long, tiring, or enjoyable.

    In what ways was today’s field experience similar to typical science labs you have completed in school? In what ways was it different?

    Well, we conducted an experiment and gathered data with the help of our fellow students and teacher.
    However, this experience was much colder, it involved manual labor, there was a decent amount of snow, and it lasted for several hours.

    What is the most valuable thing you learned from today’s experiences?

    It isn’t hard to contribute to the cause of science and have fun with other people, even if you usually don’t get along with them to well.

    What was your favorite part about today’s field work? Use your senses to help describe your answer to this as best you can (sights, smells, sounds, etc.).

    It was ever so slightly cold, but hiking up the mountain with people skiing/snowboarding past, the wind whipping past, and… well… it was kinda epic. Also enjoyable was the occasional outbreak of a snowball fight and getting to peg people with chunks of ice and snow.

    How have today’s experiences shaped your understanding of careers in water resources or hydrology?

    This experience has given me a first-hand experience in such a career. I have a better understanding of the methods and procedures used and the work that goes into procuring this valuable information.

    Provide some commentary on how today’s field work has influenced your personal view point on the environmental issue of freshwater resource use and budgeting.

    Snowpacks are an important part of our water resources and ecosystem all year round. It is of great importance to study snowpacks as they can adversely affect the surrounding environment through water shortages, floods, and the like.

Leave a Reply

